Etchells Victorian Championships 2018: RSYS Iron Lotus Crowned Champion

Tom King and his crew David Ewards, Ivan Wheen and RBYC’s Owen McManhon of Iron Lotus locked away the championship with a race to spare, with 3 race wins from 6 races.

Day One got underway at 1407hrs, after an AP to wait for more breeze. Everyone eagerness brought two general recalls before a Black Flag start got them away clear.

Day two saw perfect racing conditions to greet the competitors, with a complete change to the leader board by the end. Tom King skippering Iron Lotus showed the fleet how it is done with two firsts moving he and his crew to first overall. Our Thing, skippered by David Turton, with crew of Klaus Lorenz and Josh Torpy also had a good day, with two third places resulting in a second place overall after the drop.

The final two races were run on the last day in stronger conditions than the previous days. After one general recall, the fleet was presented with the U flag for the next start heading on a course of 1.5 nm. A big shift saw the race abandoned just after the start. Once reset and another general recall, racing finally got underway just before 1200hrs in 16 knots of breeze. Iron Lotus won this race, sewing up the series by before the final race. In the last race, Wobbegong 2 secured a victory, skippered by Doug Flynn and crewed by Steve McConaghy and Ben Lamb.

Presentations were held back in the Olympic Restaurant at the Clubhouse with a Buffet BBQ for competitor, volunteers and hangers on. Lots of happy faces filled the room with a great atmosphere and feel. The regatta ran very smoothly thanks to the great race management team, led by RO Ross Wilson and our regular volunteers. Huge effort went in to the onshore volunteers for registration and presentation. A huge amount of effort was put in by the Melbourne Fleet led by Peter Coleman.

We look forward to having the Etchells back again in Jan 2020 for the Australian Nationals.