Great success for Brighton sailors at the 2018 Victorian Sailing Awards


The 2018 Victorian Sailing Awards were hosted this year at Sandringham Yacht Club on the night of Friday June 1st.

The Awards recognise the contributions and achievements by individuals in sailing, be them athletes, volunteers or media representatives. In addition, an organisation award is made to an outstanding Club and Training Centre.

Many RBYC sailors were awarded during the night. Neil Patterson (portrait-ed above) won the Sailor of the Year with a Disability, a great achievement that will hopefully propel his current campaign efforts even further. Neil has recently been training also with our Club Head Coach Adrian Finglas, in preparation for the upcoming events in the 2.4mR class.

Laura Harding and Ella Grimshaw won the Youth Sailors of the Year and Female Sailors of the Year awards. In addition to being BYS members, Laura and Ella are also active youth members at Brighton, training regularly with the Victorian Institute of Sport 49er team. Both have also been instructing regularly at RBYC for our various training programs.

Finn McMahon won the Victorian Sailing Cup – International Optimist. Finn is one of the great promises for the next generation of sailors.

Hamish Cowell and Sam Blackwell won the Victorian Sailing Cup in the Open Bic and Minnow classes respectively. Both have joined the RBYC ranks and are currently training in our club’s Winter Program.

Finally, Ollie Strode won the President’s Award together with fellow SSCBC employee Adam Hawkins. They jumped into action when a man was found unconscious in the stairwell at SSCBC. They coordinated a group of people to move him to flat ground, then performed CPR with the use of a defibrillator for 20 minutes until an ambulance arrived. 
Their actions directly contributed to saving this man’s life; these acts were truly heroic.

Congratulations to all who got awarded and nominated, you make us very proud to have you as our members!